Family Medicine Summit (formerly ASA)
Tools & Resources
Find a Family Physician
PEIP Conference
Member Support
What's Up Doc Research Showcase



June 21, 2021 – Joint statement from physicians and pharmacists on COVID-19 vaccination in Alberta

Your Pharmacists and Family Physicians are Working Together to put COVID-19 Behind us

Vaccines are safe, effective, and our best way out of the pandemic. Alberta family physicians and pharmacists are working together, getting more Albertans vaccinated so we can move on and get back to normal as soon as possible.

Immunization is the single most effective means of protecting yourself, your loved ones, and the greater community from COVID-19. Family physicians and pharmacists have been educating themselves on the COVID-19 vaccine. Because they also know your history, family, and circumstances, they can make recommendations that are right for you.

A very small number of individuals may be at risk for complications, but without vaccine protection, we know that even healthy Albertans are at risk of severe illness and death from this virus. Remember that immunization is safe and makes your immune system stronger by building antibodies to help prevent disease.

If you have questions or are feeling unsure about getting vaccinated, your trusted pharmacists and family physicians are always happy to discuss your concerns. We are committed to making you comfortable with getting your COVID-19 vaccine. The most important thing is that you get vaccinated. When you’re ready, you can then choose the best location: from participating family physician offices or Primary Care Networks, participating pharmacies or an Alberta Health
Services vaccination site.

We are here to help you get past the pandemic. You can help, too, by getting vaccinated.

Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP)        Alberta Medical Association (AMA)

Alberta Pharmacists’ Association (RxA)            Primary Care Networks (PCNs)

– 30 –

Media Contact Information

For more information please contact:
Lindsay Rankin, Manager, Communications and Stakeholder Relations
Alberta College of Family Physicians
cell: (780) 265-5467 or

Past Media Releases

Connect With Our Social