Family Medicine Summit (formerly ASA)
What's Up Doc Research Showcase
Tools & Resources
Find a Family Physician
PEIP Conference
Member Support
Leadership Registry

Governance Advisory Committee

Committee members include members of the Board of Directors and Members at Large, and are mandated to carry out specified functions, programs, or projects assigned by the Board. Governance Committees help the Board do its job.

The Governance Advisory committee is a standing committee of the ACFP Board and must have at least two Board of Directors, where the Chair must be a past President or Past Board member or a designate from the Board. The Governance Advisory Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • Annual recruitment and provision of screened nominees for potential Board members according to Board stated need
  • Annual review and provision of recommendations for changes to Bylaw to be presented to the Board and then Annual Meeting of Members of the ACFP for approval
  • Annual review and provision of recommendations for updates to Board Policies

Become a Committee Member

This Committee is currently seeking two Members-at-Large for terms beginning in 2020. Learn how you can get involved or contact for more details.

Committee Members

Dr. Anila Ramaliu (Chair), Calgary
Dr. Vishal Bhella (Board Member), Calgary
Dr. Sudha Koppula (Board Member), Edmonton
Dr. John Chmelicek, Edmonton
Dr. Rollie Nichol, Calgary